top of page
Buscar
  • rottenpages

Interview to ANEMOIA (USA)


1. Hello my friend, pleasure to have you on Rotten Pages ´zine. How are you doing today? Let us set the scene first. Where do we find you right now? Please describe your surroundings.

Greetings! I'm doing great. At the moment, I'm sitting at a table with an Asus ROG laptop, currently listening to one of my newly written songs.


2. Would it be possible to tell us more about your personal musical background and how do you feel you have developed as musician?

I started off in a band named Waricide, which released one track currently on hold. I'm also in another band named Lifeless Exhale, and Serial Arsonist.


3. You play in different side-bands alongside with your own project Anemoia. What prompted you to explore “Black metal” musical direction?

Ever since I've listened to the subgenre of metal, I was instantly attracted to the misanthropic darkness.


4. What challenges have you faced as an independent artist, and how have you overcome them while maintaining Anemoia's uncompromising vision?

I've had many ideas fluctuate through my head at multiple times, and with this project, I've always been a perfectionist.


5. Your music seems to carry out a deeper meaning. What messages or themes do you hope to convey through your artistic expression?

The main theme was nostalgic times, and sometimes the vampiristic urge to linger in solitude, as you will hear from the upcoming full-length.


6. Away from the metal scene, musicians are very often associated with satanism. You are a black metal band - how close are you to religious themes?

I'm very intertwined with Satanism, as it allows you to be your true self.


7. You´ve been prolific musican, being released three demos in one short period of time. Can you tell us a little bit more about the musical purpose that you went for on the recordings?

My purpose with the three demos was to show that I have improved with this darkened music.


8. As the sole member behind Anemoia, how do you manage the creative process of writing and composing music, lyrics, and playing multiple instruments?

I'd say I consider myself musically talented when it comes to making things. With this project, it's meant to be a bit more polished, while Lifeless Exhale relies on suspense and horror in how the music sounds.


9. Your debut demo, “Land Of Lost Dreams” delivered a misterious, raw, and nostalgic sound. Can you tell us about the inspiration behind these 4 tracks and how it felt to release your music to the world?

Ah, this is hard to answer. My inspirations consist of Funeral Mist, Marduk, Inquisition, and Silent Hill soundtracks, specifically the second game. For the symphonic stuff, that's due to hearing leitmotifs from old-school video games like Castlevania. It felt great, as this project was originally entitled "Starry Lands" in Swedish, and the first demo was never released (which I may release sometime). This project was also inspired by Katatonia, as Blakkheim's playing is very melodic and smooth.


10. Your latest demo “Immortality” sounds more mature. Explain me, please the evolution process that made you become with this pondered songs.

Every day, I get better at playing my instruments. The surprising part that gets me every time is that those songs were recorded in like 3 hours!



11. Describe your vocal delivery. I feel your higher register vocal style is unique, how difficult is this to pull it off?

It's not too difficult, but I will say that when I listen back, it is quite unique. My vocals have gotten better over time, taking a lot of inspiration from Mortuus/Arioch.


12. When you work in the studio what kind of process do you go through? Do you come in all prepared or do you improvise?

It's a bit of both for this project; I switched it around.


13. Can you tell a bit about the start of metal in Illinois and what that scene was like back in the days when you guys started playing? How did metal music come to your area in the first place?

Well, going back to 2019, I came up with the idea of Waricide. In my area, I'm one of the only metal musicians, which makes me feel proud! As far as I know, for history's sake, one of the first black metal bands made in Illinois was Judas Iscariot!


14. With the easy access to internet you can spread your music across the globe just sitting in front of your computer. How much effort to you put into promoting the band world-wide?

I make the designs and logos for all my work, and Gustave Doré's artworks work out very well when it comes to figuring out artwork. It can be challenging and easy. It's quite nice to reach out to people and ask if they can put my music on their promo channels!


15. So, what’s coming out next? Anything you want to divulge from the vault of your future plans?

I guess I can spoil a bit of stuff! This new stuff is in the vein of Worm and Funeral Mist inspiration. The new album will be called Nightfall, and there will be a single entitled Moondance. At the moment, I'm still writing three more songs. This is some heavy stuff I've made as of late! If any labels are reading, I am still searching for a label to sign to!




14 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page