top of page
Buscar
  • rottenpages

Interview to EVIL SPECTRE (Canada)

Your origins are from Russia. What´s the reason you are currently living in Canada? Could you please tell us a bit about your activities prior to form Evil Spectre

I have lived in Canada since 2002, I was not born here but I consider Canada my home because I was raised here and I adjusted to living here overtime. Prior to Evil Spectre I was working on a project M.O.R. (Moon Occult Ritual), a dark ambient project, as well as running my label Chernobog's Temple.


Did the black metal come with time as a natural choice for expression of your ideas or you were straight forward right from the start and decisive that you want to play black metal definitely? Natural choice of expression, reason being I listen to black metal on a daily basis, and have done so for as long as I can remember.


Being the sole musician behind the band as well, would it be possible to tell us more about your personal musical background?

I am mainly a guitarist, secondary a drummer. I started learning guitar and drums since I was in my teens. I played bass for a short time for a local band called Warlock Moon, and played live with them as well.


Talking about your vast discography (You´ve released a plenty amount of releases), How do you consider this records as far as music skills and your black metal craft?

I am satisfied with the result, and I have been getting good feedback from fans and supporters lately about music of Evil Spectre.


What part does art-work and lay-out play when you release new recordings? How do you best catch people’s attention?

I prefer to make album layout and artwork to be in theme with the songs, but my music at the moment is instrumental, there are no lyrics.


I must say, the sound on your productions are pretty raw. What kind of sound were you going for and how do you feel about the final outcome?

That was the intention, in my opinion underground black metal should have such attributes.


Black metal, just like any other musical genre, has sub genres of its own that define bands and their own unique styles. Where do you see Evil Spectre within those definitions?

Raw Black Metal, nothing else.


As the sole member behind Evil Spectre, how do you manage the creative process of writing and composing music, lyrics, and playing multiple instruments?

I do everything by myself, the mixing, mastering, recording separate parts, etc.


How do you handle the songwriting and recording? What challenges and advantages do you experience as a one-man band?

My only challenge is timing perhaps, in the sense of when the tempo of a riff changes in a song from slower, to fast.


Have you ever considered enlisting members to handle the various instruments in order to perform live, and if not, why not?

Yes, and I plan to play live at some point of my career.


As a black metal band, what are your opinions about the stereotype that the “original black metal” (formed in the 90’s by the early Norwegian bands) is fading away from its true origins?

I agree with that actually. There are too many bands I guess right now trying to imitate the original 90s Norwegian Black Metal sound, this is really nothing new in my opinion. It has been like that from what I've seen since early 2000s.

What would you like to see Evil Spectre accomplish that you have not been able to achieve yet?

Play live.


Finally, is there anything else you would like to share with your fans and the readers of this interview? 

Thank you for for interest in my music, keep the spirit of the raw underground black metal alive.



15 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas Recientes

Ver todo

Comments


bottom of page