top of page
Buscar
  • rottenpages

Interview to MUSKET BREATH (USA)


1. Hello my friend, pleasure to have you on Rotten Pages ´zine. How are you doing today? Let us set the scene first. Where do we find you right now? Please describe your surroundings.

Hey thanks for having me. I’m doing well. Glad I could be a part of your magazine. Right now I’m at my current home outside of Los Angeles in a town that can be described as a glorified truck stop haha. I have a lot of space and no neighbors. Mostly just deer and owls out here. 


2. Let us start with the most exciting news! Your first studio EP “Sludgedoomstonershit” came out about one month ago. If you have to summarize EP’s main message in a couple of sentences, how it would sound?

The lyrics for the new EP are an over-exaggerated take on addiction issues, exploitation, greed, and violence that are ingrained in the culture here in the United States. 


3. Band resides in Florida, the state that is know for the birth place of Death Metal… Is it important that there is some sort of local scene for a band to develop?

At least Florida is good for something haha. But yeah local scenes bring together musicians who influence each other, so I’d say they’re definitely necessary. 


4. What are your origins surrounding metal- as far as when did you get into the style and how did you gravitate to finally picking up an instrument and playing?

Well before I was into metal I was too stubborn to listen to anything but punk. Bands like A Global Threat, The Virus, The Casualties, and Choking Victim/Leftover Crack are some of the main reasons why I picked up a guitar when I was younger. It wasn’t until I fell into the hardcore scene that I started listening to and writing heavier music.


5. Can you tell me a little bit about the EP cover, and do you think art work is important to public perception and branding for a band?

The cover is actually a photo that was taken a few years ago by my cousin Bailey Robb (who is an amazing photographer) while we were messing around with a camera and a fire extinguisher haha. My girlfriend found the picture recently and did some extra editing to make it look the way it does. The logo was designed by an old friend named Tony Sanchez (@theirsaviortheasswolf), who did a sick job. I do think a band’s artwork is important for creating a certain image, but I appreciate bands more when they don’t care about branding themselves or care what the public thinks of them.


6. The production on your songs is really crushing. What can you tell me about the recording process and what kind of sound you were going for? Are you satisfied with final results?

I appreciate that! To be honest, I just record through an audio interface into my computer and mix everything in my living room while hanging out on the couch haha. The vocals were recorded in a studio, though. Luckily I have learned some mixing techniques from some very talented people, which helped with the mix quite a bit.


7. As a musician, how mandatory is the process of coming up with new ideas or incorporating new influences as opposed to staying within the style you are known for or that you are most familiar with?

I like when bands go in different directions with their music, but I don’t think abandoning your original sound is always necessary.


8. What are some topics discussed in “Sludgedoomstonershit” and why did you select this title for your album?

Some topics covered on this EP are greed, addiction, and blind submission to authority. I chose “Sludgedoomstonershit” because I’m a stoner and I thought the name sounded cool. Obviously the music isn’t sludge or doom by any means


9. Do your music and lyrics have any comprehensive ideological background, or it rather reflects your immediate moods and ideas when it comes to composing music?

This EP definitely reflected my immediate moods when I wrote it. I don’t like to overthink or take my music too seriously, so everything tends to be written and recorded on the spot. 


10. Death Metal as a genre is one of the most complex genres in music. In my mind. More generally, why you chose to have a Death Metal sound?

Initially this project was supposed to have more of a crust punk/grindcore sound, but  I guess more death metal and hardcore influences came through more than I expected. Being able to combine death metal with punk genres is part of what makes it a complex genre. 


11. What have you been listening to lately? Any new and upcoming bands that might have caught your attention?

I’ve been listening to a lot of folk and folk punk lately. Bands like Rail Yard Ghosts, The Resonant Rogues, Holy Locust, and My Singer My Songbird. I’m always listening to black metal, too, like Human Serpent, Tresspasser, Bhleg, Ungfell, and Helfro. A new band I recently came across is a grind band from the Los Angeles area called BULMA. Definitely check them out if you haven’t already. So heavy.


12. What does the future hold for Musket Breath? Is it in your plans to release any new material?

I’m actually working on new music as we speak, so you will be hearing more Musket Breath in the near future. I will be releasing a black metal-influenced project soon under a different name, as well. 


13. I want to thank you, sincerely, for your time. Before we end our conversation, is there anything else in particular you’d like to share?

Nope I think that’s pretty much it. Thanks again for your time! 




3 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page